Skip to main content

Primary tabs

For four hundred and fifty years, from 1457 onwards, the Chiefs of Clan Campbell played leading roles in the governments of Scotland, Great Britain, the United Kingdom, the British Empire, and The Commonwealth of Nations. When Colin Campbell of Lochawe was made first Earl of Argyll in 1457 and then Chancellor of Scotland, until the Union of the Kingdoms of Scotland and England in 1707, the Argyll family and their numerous followers had always to be taken into account where Scottish affairs were concerned.

In the mid 16th century, the time of Elizabeth of England and Mary Queen of Scots, the fifth Earl of Argyll could bring a larger army to the field than that of either queen and he was the only noble in the British Isles to have his own artillery. In the mid 17th century the 8th Earl and Marquis of Argyll ruled Scotland for a time.

From 1701 and for the next two hundred years, the Dukes of Argyll were frequently involved in the government of Great Britain. In the first part of the eighteenth century the second Duke both commanded British armies and served in the Cabinet, while the third Duke, his heir, administered Scotland. The 8th Duke was a Cabinet Minister in the British government. In the second half of the nineteenth century Lord Lorne, heir to the 8th Duke, married Queen Victoria's daughter and was Governor General of Canada. Two Dukes have been Field Marshals and one a 4-star General.

Today most of the aristocratic families of Britain, including the Duke of Argyll, prefer to serve their country in commercial, cultural and charitable roles and in preserving the extraordinary heritage of their architectural and archival treasures through free enterprise for the public good.

Campbell Chiefs throughout history:

Arthur (Unknown) Unknown (0440 - 0540)

Smervimore Amid Coslidh (0510 - 0570)

Ferither Our 'Dun (0591 - 0620)

Duibhn Mor (0620 - 0686)

Arthur Oig MacDuibhn (O'Duin) (0684)

Ferither Eile (0730)

Duibhn Fuilt Derg MacDuibhn (c. 0700)

Ferither Finruo (0837 - 0887)

Duibhn Derg (c. 0860)

Dubhn Doun (c. 0904)

Diarmid MacDuibhn (bef. 0982)

Duina MacDuibhn (c. 0990 - aft. 1020)

Malcolm MacDwine MacDuibhn (c. 1020 - 1066)

Archibald Campbell (c. 1041 - 1091)

Duncan MacDurine Campbell (c. 1070 - 1097)

Cailen "Maol Maith (Naith)" Campbell (1190 - 1120)

Sir Archibald (aka Gillespic) Campbell of Lochow (b. 1130)

Dugald Campbell (b. 1161)

Knights of Menstrie

Lords of Lochow (1315)

Lords Campbell (1445)

Earls of Argyll (1457)

Marquesses of Argyll (1641)

Earls of Argyll (1457; restored 1663)

  • Archibald Campbell, 9th Earl of Argyll (c. 1629–1685) (eldest son of the 1st Marquess, was restored in 1663 to his father's honours, excepting his Marquessate. He was later tried for high treason and all his honours forfeit in 1681)
  • Archibald Campbell, 10th Earl of Argyll (1658–1703) (eldest son of the 9th Earl, restored to his father's honours in 1685, created Duke of Argyll in 1701)

Dukes of Argyll (1701)

Join Us!

Clan Campbell Society (N.A.)

Membership benefits include:

– A subscription to our 60 page award winning quarterly magazine, "The Journal"

– Access to our genealogical data via our Genealogist

– Member pricing on Clan Campbell merchandise

– News of Scottish events and Scottish Highland Games

– Periodic opportunities for Group Travel to Scotland

A subscription to a monthly eNewsletter with color pictures and invitations to events

– Free entry to Cawdor Castle during regular open times (with valid membership card)

– Free entry to Inveraray Castle during regular open times (with valid membership card)

Membership is open to all who are Campbells, Campbell septs, married to a Campbell or Campbell Sept, and those who are descended from Clan Campbell, and to those interested in learning about the Clan Campbell, and Scottish history and culture, and acknowledge Mac Cailein Mòr as their Clan Chief, as he is the Chief of Clan Campbell, the greatest family in all of Scotland!

Remember, those who get the most out of being a member of the Clan Campbell Society... are those who participate. We welcome you as our kinsmen.

To become a member, please complete the online Membership Application and the PDF Genealogy Data Forms.